Must Have Items For The New Mommy

DSC_9235

There are some things out there that you will never need for your newborn, and then there are some things you won’t be able to do without. I wanted to share some of the things I felt I desperately needed during my time with a new baby. Some things won’t apply to you and some of them will. Either way I hope you enjoy checking them out!

  • Gowns– I love these things and the world makes it harder and harder for us to find them! I searched all the stores in Hattiesburg with NO success. I eventually ended up ordering them off of Amazon. The gowns are really good for new babies because it doesn’t matter how long they end up being. They don’t hang down like a onesie or pants that don’t fit correctly. They also allow easy access for changing all those poopy diapers your little one will produce in the beginning! Check out my FAVORITE gown HERE.
  • Nursing Pads– Not just nursing pads but THICK nursing pads. I highly underestimated how often I’d be changing these guys out. I also underestimated the size of my breasts (not necessarily a bad thing)! Most of the breast pads I had were either too small, too thin, or very uncomfortable disposables. Do NOT waste your money on those! You will want to get some thick ones like THESE. If you get the white ones you can just bleach them!
  • Bouncer Seat– The bouncer seat has always been a lifesaver for us. With my first kiddo I took her everywhere around the house with me while she napped in it. I could always see her and make sure she was breathing fine. I don’t really have a favorite but comfort and width are really important. They don’t really use the toys when they are that little, although some will stare them down. Ours has vibration which is pretty neat and a nice little tune if your little one likes noise. I have heard amazing things about THIS one, it is supposed to last up until toddler stage!
  • Spotify– This is not a joke. Spotify saved my life! The first week or two I used a baby station on Spotify that played either soft lullabies or spa type music. My little one sleeps so much better with noises going! Now I can play a little John Mayer or Ray Lamontagne on low and he’s good to go!
  • Large Swaddling Blankets– I kid you not that I am still using the awesome swaddling blankets from our hospital. They are the perfect size and they aren’t so thick that baby gets hot when swaddled. It’s also really hard to find these things in the right size and material. I adore the Aden + Anais muslin ones but have yet to spend the money on them!

This is all I’ve got for now! I’m sure I will accumulate even more favorites as Knoa gets older! Got a favorite? Share in the comments below.

Leave a comment